About Us





The Malaysian Association for Thoracic & Cardiovascular Surgery (MATCVS) is the only professional organization that represents the views and interests of all Malaysian cardiothoracic surgeons. Formed in the 1990s, the MATCVS membership includes surgeons in private practice, academia (universities), the public sector (Ministry of Health units) and at the National Heart Institute, IJN. Eminent past presidents of the society include Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Yahya Awang and Dato’ Dr Azahari Yakub.

The MATCVS has organized a successful annual scientific meeting with renowned invited international faculty since 1998 and a postgraduate review course since 2010. In 1993 and again this year 2012, the MATCVS will be the organizer and host of the prestigious Association of Thoracic & Cardiovascular Surgeons of Asia (ATCSA) annual scientific meeting.

The principle aim of the MATCVS is to be a forum for discussion of pertinent professional matters, co-ordinate the activities of local practising cardiothoracic surgeons and to promote the art and science of cardiothoracic surgery in Malaysia, regionally and internationally by networking with fellow societies worldwide. Through its subcommittees of the Malaysian Board of Cardiothoracic Surgery (MBCTS), the MATCVS is leading the way in developing a certified structured national postgraduate training programme in cardiothoracic surgery. The MATCVS also advises governmental policy makers on relevant healthcare issues including credentialing and accreditation of cardiothoracic specialists via the National Specialist Register.

The MATCVS is currently in the process of establishing evidence based local clinical practice guidelines for a number of procedures including coronary revascularization, thoracic surgery and various vascular procedures. Regular updates on all activities of the Executive Council and MATCVS in general can be found on this website and in the society’s newsletter Berita MATCVS, which is published two times a year.

Executive Council 2021 - 2023

President : Dato Dr Basheer Ahamed Abdul Kareem
Immediate Past President : Tan Sri Dato' Dr Yahya Awang
Vice President : Dato Seri Dr Jeswant Dillion
Hon Secretary : Prof Dr Chan Kok Meng, John
Hon Treasurer: Mr Sivakumar A/L Sivalingam
Committee Members: Dato' Dr Mohd Hamzah Kamarulzaman
  Dato Dr Mohamed Arif Bin Mohammad Nor
  Dr Abu Yamin Bin Khamis
  Dr Alwi Bin Mohamed Yunus




Executive Council 2019 - 2021

President : Tan Sri Dato' Dr Yahya Awang
Immediate Past President : Prof Dr Raja Amin Raja Mokhtar
Vice President : Dato' Dr Mohd Hamzah Kamarulzaman
Hon Secretary : Prof Dr John Chan Kok Meng
Hon Treasurer: Prof Dr Zamrin Dimon
Members: Dato' Dr Hamdan Leman
  Dr Jong Yuan Hsun
  Dr Khairul Anuar Bin Abdul Aziz
  Dr Adli Azam Bin Mohd Razi




Executive Council 2017 - 2019

President : Prof Dr Raja Amin Mokhtar
Immediate Past President : Dato' Dr Hamdan Leman
Vice President : Dr Alwi bin Mohamed Yunus
Hon Secretary : Prof Dr John Chan Kok Meng
Hon Treasurer: Dr Sivakumar Sivalingam
Members: Dato' Dr Mohd Hamzah Kamarulzaman
  Prof Dr Zamrin Dimon
  Dr Paneer Selvam
  Dr Jong Yuan Hsun




Past Presidents

1993-1995 : Dato' Dr Yahya Awang

1995-1997 : Dato' Dr Yahya Awang

1997-1999 : Dato' Dr Ahmad Sallehuddin

1999-2001 : Dato' Dr Ahmad Sallehuddin

2001-2003 : Dato' Dr Mohd Azhari Yakub

2003-2005 : Dato' Dr Mohd Azhari Yakub

2005-2007 : Dato' Dr Venugopal Balchand

2007-2009 : Dato' Dr Venugopal Balchand

2009-2011 : Dato' Dr Zainuddin Md Wazir

2011-2013 : Dato' Prof Dr Zainuddin Md Wazir

2013-2015 : Prof Dato’ Dr Mohamed Ezani Md Taib
2015-2017 : Dato' Dr Hamdan Leman
2017-2019 : Prof Dr Raja Amin Mokhtar
2019-2021 : Tan Sri Dato' Dr Yahya Awang







© 2012 Malaysian Association of Thoracic & Cardiovascular Surgery